Review: The Law Moses, by Amy Harmon

The Law of MosesThe Law of Moses by Amy Harmon
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

What a beautiful story! This is the second book I’ve read by this author and both have been highly emotional and heartfelt. Ms. Harmon’s writing is flawless and the stories she creates will leave you breathless. Expect to be captivated. Be prepared to fall in love, have your heart broken and have it slowly pieced back together. Reading her books is the best kind of pain.

Georgia first meets Moses when he moves to her small town to live with his grandmother. Infamous in the small town for his well-known troubled past, he is just the kind of trouble that Georgia’s parents want her to steer clear of. However, she sees something in Moses that nobody else does. Despite the warnings, Georgia is determined to work her way into his heart.

From the time he was born, his life has been a struggle. Abandoned by his drug-addicted mother shortly after his birth, he has been passed from one begrudging family member to the next. Run-ins with the law are commonplace for Moses. He seems to attract trouble wherever he goes.

Unable to relate to most people, Moses loses himself in his art. He can’t help but to paint the images that come to him. He can’t stem the flow of the beautiful pictures that pop into his head, although he’d like nothing more.

When Moses’ abilities make him the center of speculation following a tragedy, things are irrevocably changed between him and Georgia. Rather than face his feelings, he shuts her out. He has no idea of the far-reaching consequences that his actions will have.

Georgia does her best to hold it together from day to day. The absence of Moses left a huge void in her life. So, when fate brings them together again, it is bound to be a raw and emotional reunion.

This book gutted me. I both loved and hated Moses. He was such a gentle, wounded soul and had experienced such heartache that I couldn’t help but feel compassion for him. Then, he could turn around and do something so callous that I’d swear I was done with him. Georgia was definitely more forgiving than I would’ve been.

On the other hand, I had nothing but love for Georgia. She was one of the strongest heroines that I’ve ever read about. The things she went through, and the inner-strength she exhibited, was awe-inspiring. She was such an incredibly kind and genuine person that I couldn’t help but love her.

Overall, this was an incredible story. In the end, I gave it 4/5 stars only because I felt like Moses needed to spend some more time atoning for his treatment of Georgia. I felt like he got off way too easy after he had walked away from her, only to walk back into her life years later.

This is definitely a book that I’d recommend if you like deep, emotional stories. This book will tug at your heart strings and remind you of all you have to be grateful for. Not to mention, there is a bit of suspense and mystery as well.

You’ll be thinking about this story long after you’ve finished. It is one of those stories. Brace yourself. It’ll be emotional, but it’ll be worth it.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: The Law Moses, by Amy Harmon

  1. Ramona

    I’ve read this book
    Last year and although the reviews were favorable, it was hard for me to finish it😞Exactly like you, my main problem was Moses and I couldn’t escape the fact that he abandoned the woman he loved.. that idea obsessed me and apparently the whole “me liking the book” faded away😞 It was very sad too, extremely.. my heart was heavy and full of compassion for the heroine..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment